top of page

Beachbody in Cape Town. The Exercise/Nutrition/Life Balance.

6 months ago I was browsing through facebook when I stumbled upon a close friends before/after weight loss photo. At first I was supremely jealous - mostly because I was in the middle of my own weight-loss and fitness journey that seemed to moving SO slowly. I was seeing a personal trainer 3 times a week and eating what I thought was a healthy diet.

GOOD LORD was I wrong.

I decided on seeing this photo that, instead of going forth and bitching about this friend, I was going A) Be happy for her because she looked fantastic and B) find out how I could also look that great. I contacted her and expressed my interest.

Enter BEACHBODY!

I was sent the Piyo Dvds (by celebrity trainer Chalene Johnson) half way through November 2014. I was about to embark on a 10 week tour with a musical production to China. I knew I would need a workout regime to give me a sense of routine, structure, purpose and sanity. It also seemed like the perfect opportunity to really focus on changing my body - something I had been trying to do for so long. I was immediately hooked. I'm not even kidding - I enjoyed the first workout so much, that I did the second one straight away. The workouts are drawn from yoga and pilates, but you're always moving.

It sound silly, but these workouts make you feel strong, flexible and graceful. I've never EVER been able to touch my toes - well, now I can. For anyone who is looking for an introduction into fitness, this is it. There are modified alternatives for every move, so even if you have some kind of injury or just feel completely unfit, you can get going with this workout.

I did Piyo for 4 months as I don't have access to these workouts here in Cape Town, but thankfully I had a trip booked to the USA and I planned ahead and had my friends order 2 new Beachbody programmes for me. I was so excited for a change of pace, and I knew that my body was now really used to Piyo and I needed to change it up for a while.

Enter Insanity Max30 (by celebrity trainer Shaun T). Oh. My. Word. There is nothing that can prepare you for the shock of starting this programme. Specially after the graceful peace of Piyo. High Impact, intense cardio, extreme strength - Insanity has it all and begs you to give your all.

My favourite thing about this programme is that you are in competition with yourself. The whole aim is to "Max out". When you seriously can't go on, not one more squat, lunge, push up... Do one more and then another. When you're spent, write down your "max out" time and aim to beat it next time. There is a different workout every day of the week (Monday-Friday with optional recovery workout on Saturday), and the workouts are ramped up after a month. Month 2 (max out month) turns it up a notch, but it is totally awesome. Every day of the week, Shaun T focuses on something different, whether it be cardio, tabata style workouts or strength. I had really good results with this programme and highly recommend it. Just a warning though - DO NOT do this workout programme if you are new to fitness. It is hardcore and you really need a good fitness foundation and a reasonable high level of strength.

I'm now completed 2 rounds of the "21 Day Fix Extreme" (By celebrity trainer Autumn Calabrese). I have enjoyed the change of pace from Insanity. It's a varied programme using weights and a resistance band.

She incorporates cardio, weight training, plyometrics, pilates and yoga. Every day is different and I'm loving it. With the 21 Day Fix, you get these awesome portion control containers - which I am now addicted to using. It helps you to understand how much of each macro-nutrients you should be consuming each day. (based on your weight and level of activity).

I have to say, even I was surprised at the incredible results I got from the 21 Day Fux Extreme - I thought they were better than my Insanity Max30 results. Although, in my childs mind, I see Insanity as melting fat off your body and 21DFX as toning up whats left!

I am currently working through P90X3, the brainchild of Tony Horton. Once again it's completely different to all the other programmes I've done, but it uses the science of "muscle confusion", so every day is different and it really keeps you on your toes. I'm only 2 weeks in and I had surgery in the middle of that so I can't report back on results yet, but I will!

I cannot recommend these home workouts highly enough. It's 30-50 minutes of your day, each programme comes with a clear-cut schedule that is easy to follow and methodically worked out so that it has the maximum effect. You don't have to go to the gym, worry about how you look (although I workout better when I feel like I look good), and you can fit it easily into any schedule.

Success! Message received.

 Share your ideas with us!

 

Subscribe to the Balance Project by submitting your favourite clean recipes or effective exercises and you could be featured for a week!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page