top of page

Chicken with Fresh Tomato & Red Pepper Sauce and Sautéed Kale

I have a new rule that I have imposed on myself and Josh. We now do one big grocery shop on a Saturday and because of this, the rule is that we are not allowed to (if we can help it) go to the shops during the week. We should have everything we need and so we have to try not to impulse buy things that we don't really need.

A couple of nights ago I wanted to make a chicken dish for dinner with a tomato sauce and I was slightly annoyed because for a second, I thought I might have make a special trip to woolies for one tin of chopped tomatoes. Then I remembered that I had a bag of fresh tomatoes in the fridge! I've never made a neopolitana sauce with fresh tomatoes (embarrassed!), but I was determined to try it. I also had a fresh red pepper sitting there, so I thought I'd try a fresh tomato and red pepper sauce - it was totally delicious so I thought I would share the recipe.

Ingredients

Sauce

800g fresh roma tomatoes, chopped

1 red pepper, chopped

3/4 cloves of garlic, crushed

Mixed/Italian herbs (to taste)

1 Tbspn balsamic vinegar

Salt & Pepper

Coconut oil

Feta cheese - for sprinkling at the end

Chicken & Marinade

4 chicken breasts

1 Tbspn olive oil

Italian herbs

2 cloves of garlic, crushed

Juice of half a lemon

Salt & Pepper

Kale

Coconut oil

2 Tspn balsamic vinegar

1 Tspn white wine vinegar

2 cloves of garlic (crushed)

Create the marinade for the chicken by mixing all the ingredients and allow the chicken to sit for a few minutes. Grill chicken for 10 mins on either side or until the juices run clear.

To make the sauce, heat the coconut oil on a medium heat in a saucepan and fry off the garlic. Throw in the peppers and tomatoes, add herbs, salt, pepper and balsamic vinegar. Leave to simmer on a low heat for 20-30 mins.

For the Kale, heat coconut oil in a frying pan at a medium heat. Add garlic, balsamic and white wine vinegars. Allow the flavours to blend and add Kale to the pan. Add salt and pepper and allow the kale to wilt and turn a dark green colour.

I like to place the sauce on the plate first, place the Kale over the sauce and the chicken on the top (with some more sauce poured over!). How ever you choose to serve it, it will be delicious - I promise!


Success! Message received.

 Share your ideas with us!

 

Subscribe to the Balance Project by submitting your favourite clean recipes or effective exercises and you could be featured for a week!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page